Menu

Testimonials

Dr. Whalen Clark, Jessica and his staff are excellent! My case was extreamly complex surgery, which had an amazing outcome!!!"

in the last week

very grateful and happy with DR clark, he performed a nissen fundupiculture and hiatal hernia repair which I feel very good and the super fast recovery after 10 days was very normal, I want to thank all the surgery team and especially doctor clark"

a week ago

This was my first surgery besides having my wisdom teeth removed when I was in high school. Dr. Clark and staff (thanks Jessica and Cindy!) took excellent care of me before, during, and after. The surgery (laparoscopic hernia) was done on time as scheduled. The recovery was a piece of cake and three days later, pain wise, I was barely even conscious that anything had been done to me. Dr. Clark's technique and bedside manner made the whole thing so very easy. Also, a big shout out to the nurses in the recovery ward at HCA South Tampa. They told me he was the best of the best and I can't help but agree. THANKS TO ALL!"

in the last week

I would 100% recommend Dr. Whalen to anyone for gallbladder removal! Quick recovery and friendly experience! I originally found him just by searching Dr.s in the area that had great reviews. All of his were stellar so I figured I’d post a review of my experience as well to help the next person. This was my first surgery ever. Everyone in the office and all of his staff were extremely personable and friendly. My appointments were always quick and on time. He really took the time to listen to any of my questions or concerns, I never felt rushed. The day of surgery Dr. Whalen was on time and came to speak with me beforehand to answer any last minute questions I may have. He was prompt and communicated great with my family right after the surgery to give updates. The only real pain I felt was right after the surgery from the gas they use for all laparoscopic surgeries, which is normal, otherwise I was just sore. I only took pain meds for one day after the surgery and that was more of a preventative precaution than anything. I was up and walking around within the first day and I was pleasantly surprised my wounds began healing right away. It’s been 2 weeks since my surgery and I feel pretty much back to normal, just slight soreness when I do certain things. It’s only been two weeks but I can already see the amazing differences. I was originally misdiagnosed by another Dr 6 years ago and only recently learned abt my gallstones. This surgery has already significantly improved my quality of life, not having to worry about getting sick or laying in bed all day from the pain, I’m VERY grateful!!"

in the last week

This dr has changed my life, so professional and nice."

in the last week

I was extremely apprehensive to undergo my first surgery since I had my tonsils out at age six. Dr. Clark came highly recommended and lived up to his reputation. The robotic surgery he performed (along with his excellent and caring nurse, Jessica Hutchins) went very smoothly with minimal scarring and post operative pain. The narcotic pain medication they prescribed went untouched, all I needed was over the counter analgesics for a few days. I had the surgery two days before Christmas and was fully back to work after New Year’s Day."

in the last week

Best Dr ever, ive never been in a hospital before. First time due to hernia, it was hurting so so much, Dr. Whalen Clark was so nice and so respectful, he did the surgery 2 days ago, now I'm so much better, did it at advent off bb downs. Nurses were pure trash though, go somewhere else for surgery because the nurses at advent health are worse than fast food employees. Dr is amazing but the nurses were pure TRASH. remember don't get the surgery at advent off bb downs. Go to Brandon or whatever. So so so so ghetto my god, I'm very surprised they weren't braiding hair in the hallway, that's how trash these nurses were."

in the last week

This is a lengty review and I hope that people do read it because Dr. Whalen Clark is an Incredible, amazing, gifted surgeon. I am so grateful and blessed to had found Dr. Clark, Jessica and the staff at Florida Medical Center. The Dr. WC Experience The Problem: There are no words I can write in this review to express what Dr.Whalen Clark has done for me. I went to several doctors/specialists, and they all said there was nothing they could do but refer me to pain management. I had a hernia repair surgery in 2019 that resulted in excruciating pain 24/7 for the past two years. They took x-rays, did tests, and all of them told me there was nothing wrong internally. The surgery just created nerve damage, and my only option was pain management. Even the original surgeon told me the same. I can't explain the pain I was going through every day, all the time, like a knife scraping through my skin. The Search: I had no options but pain management which was the worst experience. I had given up, but I decided to give it one more shot and looked up surgeons one more time in my area, and I saw Dr. Whalen's profile. I decided to give it one last shot, and I set up an appointment. When I called, the team was super friendly, explained everything in detail, and I was all set to see Doc Whalen. Appointment Day: I arrived at the office, and again, the team there gave exceptional care and were all super helpful. I sat with Dr. Whalen, and he gave it to me straight; nothing was showing up in the labs, so he told me that exploration was the best option. Not one of the doctors gave me that option. He explained the risks and the procedure in detail. I agreed immediately, the only doctor who gave me a chance, that gave me faith. Surgery Day, The medical staff treated me so nicely and professionally. I was so comfortable it made me feel like everything would work out and that everything would be ok. I was prepped, Doc Whalen came and explained everything one more time, and that was it, lights out. I woke up feeling almost no pain with the staff right there waiting for me to wake up. Dr. WC came over and explained what he found. There were issues with the mesh. It was creating scar tissue and constricting/deteriorating a tube which was the cause of my pain. He cleaned it all up and replaced the mesh with a new and better one. All I was thinking about was not feeling that pain anymore; the joy of hearing that there was an issue and they resolved it gave me relief. I walked out of there no problem, went home, and went through the recovery process. Post-Op: I did exactly what they told me to do. I was still able to walk and do things, which was crazy because the first hernia surgery recovery was horrible, I couldn't even walk for a week, so I knew Dr. Clark did an incredible job. I could feel it! Today I feel like a whole new person! The pain is gone; the pain that had made my life hell, the pain that stopped me from living my life, playing with my kids, the pain that prevented me from working out has finally gone away. There are no words, even in this lengthy review 😂 that can express my gratitude for Dr. Whalen. He gave me my life back and didn't give up on me as so many others did. IAM PAIN-FREE! My recovery was excellent and almost over. To Dr. Whalen's staff at Florida Medical, you have been so professional and caring for my needs. Thank you all so much. Thank you to Jessica, who is a gift from god! She always had the time to see me or answer any questions I had throughout this whole journey. To Dr. Whalen, you are a gift to the Medical field and a master at your craft. You gave me my life back, you didn't give up like the others. There are no words or reviews I can write that express my gratitude for what you did for me. I am so grateful that I found you. I hope others do too because you are a fantastic, amazing, professional, incredible, gifted surgeon. Thank you, DR. Whalen Clark."

in the last week

Great experience!! Had robotic dbl hernia surgery at the hospital.No need for the pain meds I picked up prior to surgery. Just took Tylenol! Highly recommend this skilled surgeon!! Great honest profession!! Thanks Dr. Clark!"

in the last week

Dr. Clark save me from having an unnecessary surgery. He is an amazing physician!!!!"

in the last week

I recently had bilateral inguinal hernia surgery at Advent Tampa and performed by Dr. Clark and ARNP Jessica. My pre-op appointment in N. Tampa was very productive as the team is patient-centered and very caring. Everything went extremely well with no post-surgery pain and minimal recovery time. Strongly recommend this team."

in the last week

I was extremely apprehensive to undergo my first surgery since I had my tonsils out at age six. Dr. Clark came highly recommended and lived up to his reputation. The robotic surgery he performed (along with his excellent and caring nurse, Jessica Hutchins) went very smoothly with minimal scarring and post operative pain. The narcotic pain medication they prescribed went untouched, all I needed was over the counter analgesics for a few days. This review is a bit overdue, but better late than never. I had the surgery two days before Christmas and was fully back to work after New Year’s Day."

in the last week

Amazing doctor! Very down to earth! He did a Nissen Fundoplication and hernia repair on my wife. Most patients are out of commission for 4-6 weeks, she was 100% at 2 weeks! No more reflux, no heartburn, and no nausea. I 100% recommend him to anyone looking to have this surgery done."

in the last week

Thank you, Dr. Clark, for the quick hernia fix. You and your team made my first surgery very easy to handle. I appreciate all of your dedication and kindness."

a week ago

Dr. Clark is a very kind, sincere, and trustworthy doctor. He performed an operation on me which is not commonly done and a couple of orthopedic doctors I visited before him were not interested in operating. Dr. Clark has exceptional bedside manner. He is a great listener who took time to answer all my questions & worries thoroughly.  I am 2 weeks post-surgery and very happy with my recovery. I would recommend Dr. Clark to my family and friends."

2 months ago

I would like to start my review with couple of ladies who work in the office..first is porcha she always has such a positive and upbeat attitude which is so refreshing when you are struggling to stay positive thru such rough times.then there is Cindy who is always so great when it comes to scheduling and having answers to most questions you could have and if not gets back to you quickly with the answer.just a very caring lady.on to dr Clark's assistant Jessica hutchins.i don't know where to start.she is 1 of the best and most caring health care providers i have ever encountered..I spent many days in the hospital over the last 5 weeks and Jessica made those days much better with her bedside manners and such positive vibes.i would also like to mention Jared whenever he would visit my room was always so awesome.now onto dr clark..first off he saved my life by removing my stomach completely due to cancer..beyond that he always explained what he thinks is the best course of action was where you could understand him without getting confused..thank you dr clark and your entire staff.if you need a general surgeon you can't get any better than dr clark"

5 months ago

Dr. Clark literally saved my life with an emergency bowel resection."

a week ago

First, I would liked to clarify, I am a RN with 25+ years experience in ICU & ER settings. I have encountered Dr. Whalen Clark as a co-worker ,but MOST importantly as a patient. As a RN, I have worked with countless physicians. Some were good, some were not so good,, some were REALLY bad & I can definitely state that Dr Clark IS one of the GREAT ones! I had Hiatal hernia surgery by Dr. Clark & was privy to the true "patient experience". His bedside manner & calm demeanor is far moe exemplary than any other I've ever experienced! I already knew his strong work ethic & wide range of surgical abilities & knowledge, along with witnessing his interactions with patients, but when it's YOU in that bed awaiting surgery, you get a whole different perspective. He answered ALL my questions & diagramed out exactly what he would be doing. I was completely at ease before going to surgery. He came by to personally check on me more than once a day while I was in the hospital. I HAVE & will continue to recommend Dr. Whalen Clark for anyone's surgical needs. A few years after my "routine" Hiatal Hernia surgery, I had an emergent situation which landed me in TGH ER. Being on the weekend, Dr. Clark was on "on call" for his group. I'm told, by my family, that Dr. Clark came straight to the hospital, & lead his team through a long & difficult emergency surgery. He even came out & sat with my family in the waiting room & stayed with them until all their concerns were met. AND, Dr. Clark stayed at the hospital, on his weekend off, until I became stable. I'm sure he & his family had much more pleasant things & plans other than his being at TGH for multiple hours. It has been said "The good physician treats the disease; the GREAT physician treats the patient who has the disease". Dr. Whalen Clark has the medical expertise, knowledge & skill which he combines with his commanding ART of Medicine. He is truly one of the rare physicians who can & DO that today."

in the last week

I wanted to share my experience that I had with dr. Whalen Clark, I was diagnosed with cancer on my pancreases,dr Clark had to preform a whipple surgery and remove part of my stomach, intestines my bowel and other parts I can’t pronounce just to get to the tumor he then removed the tumor along with part of my pancreases and then had to surgically repair everything on his way out,dr Clark treated me like I was his only patient, his bedside manner is awesome, thank you dr Whalen Clark for saving my life"

4 months ago

I wanted to share my experience that I had with dr. Whalen Clark, I was diagnosed with cancer on my pancreases,dr Clark had to preform a whipple surgery and remove part of my stomach, intestines my bowel and other parts I can’t pronounce just to get to the tumor he then removed the tumor along with part of my pancreases and then had to surgically repair everything on his way out,dr Clark treated me like I was his only patient, his bedside manner is awesome, thank you dr Whalen Clark for saving my life"

4 weeks ago

Dr. Clark is a kind, skilled surgeon. He was our guide when my father-in-law was going through colon cancer and needed surgery to remove the cancer. He took his time to answer all of our questions and has stayed in touch well after the surgery. He did a great job on not only removing the cancer but also ensuring that my FIL's recovery went well. He was also a great advocate when working alongside the other doctors to ensure my dad got the best care. I highly recommend Dr. Clark. He has excellent bed side manor and is a true pro at his craft."

2 months ago

Dr. Clark is extremely detail oriented and doesn't allow you to leave his office if you have any questions. He will stay with you in the room until all of your questions and concerns are addressed. His demeanor certainly makes the idea of surgery seem much less stressful. I appreciate all he has done for me and the kind compassionate care he has shown. Thank you, Dr. Clark."

2 months ago

1 1/2 years ago I had my gallbladder removed by Dr. Clark. I found his staff and his expertise amazing. I had never had any type of surgery in the past and did not know what to expect. He answered all my questions, was honest and made me feel at ease. I can't tell you how great I feel now having my gallbladder removed ,and if I ever have to have general surgery again, I will be find him!!"

6 months ago

1 1/2 years ago I had my gallbladder removed by Dr. Clark. I found his staff and his expertise amazing. I had never had any type of surgery in the past and did not know what to expect. He answered all my questions, was honest and made me feel at ease. I can't tell you how great I feel now having my gallbladder removed ,and if I ever have to have general surgery again, I will be find him!!"

2 months ago

After going to the Brandon ER with right side pain (gallstone pain) the ER advised me to follow up with my regular doctor, Dr. Vanessa Sarquis. Dr. Sarquis referred me to Dr. Colby Clark. Within one week I had an appointment with Dr. Clark. Within all this time I’m still in pain. After Dr. Clark saw my ultrasounds in his office he said this gallbladder needs to come out right away/it should have come out in the ER 9 days ago. He said this gallbladder is really inflamed and infected. At that appoinrment with Dr. Clark he made arrangements for me to have surgery in less than 24 hours at Advent Hospital by USF. With my being overweight and the gallbladder being so infected, Dr Clark said it would be a risky surgery but he wanted to do anyway. My surgery was sucessful!!! Dr .Clark wanted me to spend one night in the hospital for observation. I was sent home a little over 24 hours after surgery. Since surgery, I am improving a little bit everyday. Thank you, Dr. Clark for taking my pain away and putting me back together again. ?"

2 months ago

Request an Appointment

To schedule a consultation with Dr. Whalen Clark, contact our friendly staff today! Let's Get Started